AP Govt of India keen to host better-quality clean energy plans

The Andhra Pradesh Government is planning to announce their solar and wind Policy soon for an optimized approach to renewable energy sources with a friendly atmosphere for better clean energy utilization.

The Government has fixed the wind power potential at 10,000 MW. The power utilities in the State will draw an action plan to make use of this opportunity with the help of the Union Government, said, K. Vijayanand, MD, APGENCO and chairman, MD, APTRANSCO.

Recently Andhra Pradesh was included by central government in its renewable energy implementation program, which will help to develop a balance between demand and supply for the consumers of the state.

ALSO READ : Gujarat and Tamil Nadu to get first Indian offshore wind projects

In addition, the utilities have kept a renewable energy target of nearly 9,180 MW by 2018-19. The distribution companies are going through bid finalization procurement of 2,000 MW right now for the period June 2015 to May 2016. On long-term basis, roughly 2,400 MW of the bids is called for procurement.


In another initiative, government plans to set up ultra- mega solar parks with an installed capacity of 2500 MW in the Ananthapur, Kurnool and Kadapa districtsthrough an MoU among APGenco, New and Renewable Energy Development Corporation of Andhra Pradesh (Nredcap) and Solar Energy Corporation of India (SECI).

A memorandum of understanding for these projects will be signed here tomorrow between the Government of India, the Ministry of Power and the Government of Andhra Pradesh in the presence of Union Power Minister Piyush Goyal and Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu.

ALSO READ Tata Solar powers Chennai based Business Group in India

Recently, 3,500 farmers from the newly formed States of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh were presented with solar pump sets for agriculture. The Solar Photovoltaic (SPV) water pumping systems for irrigation were granted by the Union Ministry of New and Renewable Energy about six months ago to a few select States including Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.